Every year, the Illinois CPA Society recognizes outstanding leaders within the CPA community through our prestigious awards. We are proud and excited to announce the 2020 award recipients. Please join us in celebrating the following individuals and organization! To view the official press announcement of our winners, please visit us here!

Lifetime Achievement Award


Elizabeth A. Murphy, PhD, MBA, CPA
Professor Emerita, DePaul University

Women to Watch Awards

Experienced Leader


Jessup, Carol

Carol M. Jessup, PhD, CPA, CFE
Professor of Accountancy, University of Illinois Springfield

Emerging Leaders



Lauren Bruce, CPA, CIA
Senior Manager, Grant Thornton LLP

Hanson-Pollock, Hollis

Hollis A. Hanson-Pollock, CPA
Associate Practice Fellow, GASB
Audit Manager, Crowe LLP

Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards

Outstanding Leader


Dr_Sandra_Shelton_01_0178_Print (002)

Sandra Waller Shelton, PhD, MBA, CPA
KPMG Endowed Professor of Accountancy
Director, Internal Audit Education Program
DePaul University


Emerging Leader


Reuel Brumell - Headshot

Reuel Brumell, CPA
Private Wealth Services - Tax Manager, Grant Thornton LLP 

Outstanding Educator Awards 


Michael T. Popowits, CPA, MAS
Senior Lecturer, Department of Accounting
Director of Student Professional Development, ILEAD
UIC Business

IL CPA Profile Picture

Christine A. Wayne, EdD, MBA, CPA
Accounting Professor/ Department Coordinator, William Rainey Harper College

Young Professionals Leadership Award

Professional Photo

Curt M. Mastio, CPA
Managing Member, Founder's CPA and Adjunct Instructor, Northwestern University

Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award

Kutchins, Robbins & Diamond Ltd.
This past year, 61 volunteers participated in the Illinois CPA Society’s CPA Day of Service by volunteering at Little City in Palatine, IL, which is an organization that is dedicated to servicing children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities.  The volunteers worked with program participants and assisted with activities including games, crafts, a cooking class and a dance.

Distinguished Service Awards 

  • Linda S. Abernethy, CPA, RSM US LLP, Governmental Executive Committee
  • Margaret L. Al-Qassas, CPA, Michael Silver, Taxation Executive Committee
  • Tony Boras, CPA, Crowe LLP, Governmental Report Review Committee
  • Scott R. Cosentine, CPA, CAMS, CGMA, Ashland Partners & Company LLP, Audit and Assurance Services Committee
  • Beth M. Cwik, CPA, CFP, Huck Bouma PC, Taxation- Estate, Gift and Trust Committee
  • Alison H. Fetzer, CPA, ORBA, Not-for-Profit Organizations Committee
  • Karen M. Fleming, CPA, MST, BKD CPAs & Advisors, Taxation- Estate, Gift and Trust Committee
  • Robert T. Hedrick, EA, MST, Hedrick Systems Group Inc., Taxation- Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Mark S. Heroux, JD, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP, Taxation- Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Mark S. Klesman, CPA, CGMA, Klesman & Company PC, Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Ellen L. Landgraf, PhD, CPA, CFE, Loyola University Chicago, Ethics Committee
  • Monty D. Meyer, CPA/PFS, MST, USTCP, Monty Meyer CPA & Associates PC, Taxation- Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Kim D. Meyer, CPA, Hudgens & Meyer LLC, Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Brittany Y. Okossi, CPA, KPMG LLP, Mary T. Washington Wylie Alumni Advisory Group
  • Linda C. Rapacz, CPA, Linda C. Rapacz CPA, PC, Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Jonathan E. Strouse, CPA, Harrison & Held LLP, Taxation- Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Andrew VanSingel, JD, Internal Revenue Service, Taxation- Practice and Procedures Committee