Every year, the Illinois CPA Society recognizes outstanding leaders within the CPA community through our prestigious awards. We are proud and excited to announce the 2021 award recipients. Please join us in celebrating the following individuals and organization! To view the official press announcement of our winners, please visit us here


Lifetime Achievement Award


Sara J. Mikuta, CPA, CGMA, CIA, CRMA
Retired – Wipfli LLP

Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards

Outstanding Leader


Dr_Sandra_Shelton_01_0178_Print (002)

Michael J. Santay, CPA, MBA
National Audit Partner, Grant Thornton, LLP

Emerging Leader


Reuel Brumell - Headshot

Charlene Rhinehart, CPA
Managing Director, CEO Unlimited LLC  
Author, Dividends Are a Queen’s Best Friend 

Outstanding Educator Awards 


Justyna Koc, CPA, CGMA, MBA
Accounting Faculty, Triton College

IL CPA Profile Picture

Gerald A. Thalmann, CPA, CMA
Associate Professor, North Central College

Sedor Photo

Lisa M. Sedor, Ph.D., CPA
Associate Professor, DePaul University

Women to Watch Awards

Experienced Leaders


Jessup, Carol

Rebecca Shortridge, Ph.D., CPA (Inactive)
Rollins Chair of Accounting at The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga


JoAnna Simek, CPA
Partner, BKD CPAs & Advisors

Emerging Leaders


DIM 04.2019

Danielle I. Martin, CPA
Manager, Porte Brown LLC


Amanda M. Rzepka, CPA, CGMA
Accounting Manager, Berlin Packaging

Young Professionals Leadership Award

Professional Photo

Lauren N. Smaga, CPA
Senior Staff Accountant, Shepard, Schwartz, & Harris LLP

Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award

Mowery & Schoenfeld

Mowery & Schoenfeld had 58 registered CPA Day of Service volunteers and came up with a unique, socially distanced activity: A Virtual 5K. To make their activity feel like a real organized race, they made the effort to provide race kits to their participants, which included a medal, race bib, finish line tape, and a Mowery & Schoenfeld Cares tee.  Participants picked their favorite exercise location to run, walk, bike, or skip their way to the finish line. The theme of the race was “5K for Our Top 5,” and all cash donations raised were matched by the firm and went toward the charities they work with, including Twice as Nice Mother and Child, Arden Shore, Bernie’s Book Bank, The Sports Shed, and Feed My Starving Children.

Distinguished Service Awards 

  • Megan P. Angle, CPA – Porte Brown LLC, Not-for-Profit Content Advisory Group
  • Tony Boras, CPA – Crowe LLP, Governmental Report Review Committee
  • Anthony M. Cervini, CPA, CFE – Sikich LLP, Governmental Report Review Committee
  • Timothy C. Custis, CPA – Gorenz & Associates Ltd., Governmental Report Review Committee
  • Samuel Delgado, CPA – Abbott Laboratories, MTWW Scholars Selection Committee
  • Brent P. DeMay, CPA – Sikich LLP, Employee Benefits Committee
  • Matthew A. Geerdes, CPA – Crowe LLP, Governmental Report Review Committee
  • Stan Green, CPA – Larry J. Wolfe Ltd., Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Kathy L. Horton, CPA, CMA, CGMA – Loyola University Chicago, Awards Committee
  • Mark S. Klesman, CPA – Klesman & Company PC, Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Luis V. Plascencia, CPA, MBA – Luis V. Plascencia, CPA, Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee and Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Deborah K. Rood, CPA – CNA Insurance, Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Taylor Schuck, CPA – Mueller CPA, Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Michael J. Singer, CPA – Michael J. Singer and Company PC, Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Nathan Summers, CPA – Miller, Cooper & Co., Ltd., Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Randall S. Sylvan, CPA, MSA – Retired (CliftonLarsonAllen), Ethics Committee
  • Andrew VanSingel, JD – Internal Revenue Service, Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Larry J. Wolfe, CPA – Larry J. Wolfe Ltd., Taxation Practice and Procedures Committee

We would also like to specially recognize the additional following members who went above and beyond by virtually moderating the Government Report Review Program:

  • Stephanie I. Blanco, CPA – John Kasperek, Co., Inc.
  • John F. Cutrera, CPA – BKD CPAs & Advisors
  • Sarah R. Darnall, CPA – RSM US LLP
  • Timothy M. Fagan, CPA – Legacy Professionals LLP
  • Richard F. Gaul, CPA – RSM US LLP
  • Carmen M. Huizenga, CPA – SKDO PC
  • Melissa A. Juntunen, CPA – Lauterbach & Amen, LLP
  • Brian D. LeFevre, CPA, MBA – Sikich LLP
  • Patrick C. McCarthy, CPA – O’Conner, Brooks & Co., CPAs
  • Carla J. Randolph, CPA, MBA, CISA – C J Randolph CPA LLC
  • Kevin A. Smith, CPA – Eder, Casella & Co
  • Dean R. Snider, CPA – Snider McCree CPAs LLC.
  • Marites U. Sy, CPA, CIA, CISA, CGMA – Roth & Company LLP
  • John C. Williams, CPA – Hearne & Associates PC