Every year, the Illinois CPA Society recognizes outstanding leaders within the CPA community through our prestigious awards. We are proud and excited to announce the 2022 award recipients. Please join us in celebrating the following individuals and organization! To view the official press announcement of our winners, please visit us here

2022-LRD-Awards-Banner-450x264 (002)

Lifetime Achievement Award


William Flowers, CPA
Chief Financial Officer, Cedille Chicago


Theodore Mandigo, CPA, MBA, ISHC
Director, TR Mandigo & Co.

Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards

Outstanding Leader


Dr_Sandra_Shelton_01_0178_Print (002)

Nerissa Brown, Ph.D., CFE
Associate Professor of Accountancy, PwC Faculty Fellow, Academic Director of BSA/MAS Programs and Associate Director of Residential Graduate Programs, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Emerging Leader


Sergio - Headshot

Sergio Rodriguez, CPA
Global Employer Services, Deloitte LLP

Outstanding Educator Awards 


Natalie Churyk, Ph.D., CPA
William F. Doyle Endowed Professor of Accountancy, Northern Illinois University and Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Accounting Education

IL CPA Profile Picture

Paul Croitoru, CPA, MBA, MSA
Professor, Wilbur Wright College

Sedor Photo

Nadia Schwartz, M. Acc, CPA
Associate Professor, Augustana College

Women to Watch Awards

Emerging Leaders


EM_Bartlett Emily_WEB

Emily Bartlett, CPA
Senior Manager, Assurance, CDH, PC


Stephanie Keller, CPA
Manager, CLA LLP

Experienced Leaders


DIM 04.2019

Nicole Szczepanek, CPA
Tax Partner, Baker Tilly LLP


Kelly VanCura, CPA
Trust Solutions Partner, PwC LLP

Young Professionals Leadership Award

Professional Photo

Kenneth Mason Jr., CPA, MBA 
Founder & CEO, Equibis

Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award


Despite ongoing COVID-19 challenges, Adelfia registered 40 volunteers, nearly all staff, for the 2021 CPA Day of Service to sort and pack food for Feed my Starving Children in Aurora. Their efforts prepared enough meals to feed nearly 40 children for an entire year

Distinguished Service Awards 

  • Andrew Allen, CPA | Deloitte LLP | Mary T. Washington Wylie Internship Preparation Program Selection Committee 
  • Sarah Beckman, CPA | CPA Associates PC | Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Thomas Blaze, CPA, MST | RSM US LLP | Taxation - State & Local Committee
  • Jennifer Culotta, CPA | Plante Moran PLLC | Not-for-Profit Organizations Committee
  • Pedro Diaz de Leon, CPA, CFE, CIA | Accume Partners | Diversity Advisory Council
  • Karen Fleming, CPA | BKD CPAs & Advisors | Taxation - Estate, Gift & Trusts and Tax Executive Committees
  • Jim Gerace, CPA | BDO USA LLP | Audit & Assurance Services Committee
  • Mark Gilbert, CPA, PFS | Reason Financial Advisors LLC | Insight Magazine Columnist
  • Stan Green, CPA | Larry J. Wolfe Ltd. | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Michael Hartley, CPA | Crowe LLP | Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Mark Heroux, CPA | Baker Tilly | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • James Javorcic, CPA | CBIZ & Mayer Hoffman McCann PC | Audit & Assurance Services Committee
  • William Keirse, CPA | Ernst & Young LLP | Accounting Principles Committee
  • Phillip Levsky, CPA | FGMK LLC | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Dorri McWhorter, CPA, CIA, CITP, CGMA | YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago |Black CPA Centennial Planning Committee
  • Kim Meyer, CPA | Hudgens & Meyer LLC | Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Randy Miller, CPA | Hawkins Ash CPAs LLP | Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Charlene Rhinehart, CPA, PMP | GoodRX | Taxation - Individual Committee
  • Fay Rofalikos, CPA | Green Thumb Industries | Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Joseph Roznai, CPA, CGMA | MichaelSilver | Tax Advisory Group
  • Taylor Schuck, CPA | PKF Mueller | Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Michael Singer, CPA | Michael J Singer & Company PC | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Marcy Steindler, CPA | Mann Weitz & Associates | Not-for-Profit Organizations Committee
  • Nathan Summers, CPA | Miller, Cooper & Company Ltd. | Cannabis Content Advisory Group
  • Donald Tidrick, Ph.D., CPA, CMA, CIA | Northern Illinois University | Ethics Committee
  • Andrew VanSingel, Esq. | Internal Revenue Service | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Jennifer Williams, CPA | Pillar Financial Services | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee
  • Larry Wolfe, CPA | Larry J. Wolfe Ltd. | Taxation - Practice and Procedures Committee