Illinois CPA Society Awards Accounting Students with Scholarships

CHICAGO, June 28, 2018 The Illinois CPA Society is pleased to provide $76,000 in tuition and textbook scholarships to 39 accounting students as part of the Society’s Accounting Scholarship Program. Supported by contributions to the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, the Society’s Scholarship Program recognizes accounting students who demonstrate strong academic performance, leadership qualities and financial need.

Annually, the Fund awards approximately $200,000 in scholarships and outreach programs to more than 150 of the most diverse and deserving accounting students across the state. In addition to these tuition and textbook scholarships, initiatives such as the Society’s Jumpstart to Accounting Program and CPA Exam Award Program make it possible for students to enhance their business skills as they transition into the profession, and for CPA candidates to pay for their CPA exam fees.

“We’re extremely proud to support this impressive group of students as they develop into the future leaders of our profession,” said Todd Shapiro, President and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society. “We’re especially thankful to our generous donors who are providing the resources to help these students seek bright futures.”

The 2018-2019 academic year tuition and textbook scholarship recipients are:

Name                                     Hometown                          School

Andrew Allen                          Milford, IL                             Judson University

Rachel Anderson                   Rochester, IL                       Augustana College

Sam Carani                            Gilberts, IL                           Judson University

Lynne Church                        Wheaton, IL                         Illinois State University

Paige Cosgrove                     Chicago, IL                          Northern Illinois University

Christine Crews                     Sugar Grove, IL                    Northern Illinois University

Kevin Curnow                        Schaumburg, IL                    Illinois State University

Kamila Czeczot                      Huntley, IL                            Northern Illinois University

Katherine Draper                   Sugar Grove, IL                    Aurora University

Maria Grigortsuk                    Macomb, IL                          University of Illinois

Maira Gutierrez                      Calumet City, IL                   Governors State University

Liliana Herrera                       Melrose Park, IL                   Elmhurst College

Nathaniel Hopkins                  Montgomery, IL                    Aurora University

Grace Horman                       Quincy, IL                             Southern Illinois University

Abigail Jockisch                     Peoria, IL                              Bradley University

Jessica John                          Peoria, IL                             Illinois State University

Jemilyia Johnson                   Chicago, IL                          Western Illinois University

Deanna Kennedy                   Peoria, IL                             Illinois State University

Clare Kitchell                          Plainfield, IL                         Northern Illinois University

Daniel Kozlak                         DeKalb, IL                            Northern Illinois University

Madelyn May                         Bloomington, IL                   Illinois Wesleyan University

Blake McCormick                  Astoria, IL                             Bradley University

Bridget Metzger                      Rochelle, IL                         Northern Illinois University

Meghan Mokate                     Orland Park, IL                    University of Illinois

Christopher Neal                    Chicago, IL                          Northern Illinois University

Anthony Orozco                     Streamwood, IL                   Northern Illinois University

Natalie Pritchard                    Blue Mound, IL                    Illinois State University

Nicole Quitman                      Midlothian, IL                       University of Illinois - Chicago

Noemi Reyes                         Summit, IL                           DePaul University

Carissa Rice                          Chicago, IL                          University of Illinois

Connor Rodheim                    DeKalb, IL                           Northern Illinois University

Kiara Schuh                           Champaign, IL                     University of Illinois

Julia Schweizer                      Chicago, IL                          Loyola University

Jaclyn Shan                           Olney, IL                              Eastern Illinois University

Paul Tobin                              Park Ridge, IL                     University of Illinois

Zaria Ward                             Hoffman Estates, IL             Southern Illinois University

Sierra Weber                          Taylorville, IL                       Eastern Illinois University

Jesse Wilson                          Berkeley, IL                         University of Illinois

Chad Young                           DeKalb, IL                            Northern Illinois University

For more information about the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, or how to contribute, visit

About the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois

The CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois is a 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1998 by Illinois CPA Society members. Its scholarship and outreach programs are geared toward attracting a strong, talented and diverse CPA profession by encouraging individuals to choose accounting as a career choice and supporting them on their journey to become CPAs.

About the Illinois CPA Society

The Illinois CPA Society, with more than 25,500 members, is one of the largest state CPA societies in the nation. Our mission is dedicated to enhancing the value of the CPA profession through the strategic initiatives of advocacy, information, education and connections.



Questions, comments, feedback

Derrick Lilly
Assistant Director, Communications & Publications | 312.517.7614