New Scholarships for Future CPAs Studying in Illinois
Recipients Benefit from The Illinois CPA Society and The CPA Endowment Fund

Chicago, June 28, 2017 - The Illinois CPA Society (ICPAS) and the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois recently awarded academic scholarships to accounting students of diverse backgrounds and common professional goals at colleges around the state. Students earning scholarships are on track to complete their students in accounting and pursue the CPA credential.

"It was another great year for our scholarship program, and on behalf of the Illinois CPA Society, I am proud to honor these impressive students," said Todd Shapiro, President and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society. "As leaders on campus and in their communities, these students have a great potential for success in the accounting profession. We are truly grateful to the many donors who make it possible for us to recognize their achievements." 

The 2016-2017 ICPAS scholarship recipients are:

 Babatunde Adediran Evanston, IL DePaul University
 Eric Barnes Country Club Hills, IL DePaul University
 LeRone Branch South Holland, IL Dominican University
 Susan Chun Chicago, IL DePaul University
 Greta Ciuksyte Naperville, IL Benedictine University
 Kaitlin Ehlers O'Fallon, IL University of Illinois
 Ashley Epping Peoria, IL Bradley University
 Amy Farley Lynwood, IL Governors State University
 Thomas Fisher DeKalb, IL Northern Illinois University
 Vincent Greco Elk Grove Village, IL Illinois State University
 Samantha Humphrey Round Lake Park, IL Southern Illinois University
 Danny Li Flora, IL Southern Illinois University
 Yuchu Lo Chicago, IL DePaul University
 Andrew Lopez Elgin, IL Northern Illinois University
 Anthony Maggitt DeKalb, IL Northern Illinois University
 Daniel Manrique Chicago, IL DePaul University
 Michael Moskos Lemont, IL DePaul University
 Cassidy Neal Carbondale, IL Southern Illinois University
 Paola Negrete Naperville, IL Benedictine University
 Sheila Nevarez Chicago, IL Robert Morris University
 Donna Nguyen Wheaton, IL Northern Illinois University
 Jacob Nowotarski Itasca, IL Elmhurst College
 Connor Obermeier Okawville, IL Southern Illinois University
 Nayely Ortiz Chicago, IL DePaul University
 Shirley Paredes Chicago, IL University of Illinois at Chicago
 Janice Sova O'Fallon, IL Southern Illinois University
 Cortesha Spencer Washington Park, IL McKendree University
 Kathryn Swerdlick Aurora, IL College of DuPage
 Steven Ta Carpentersville, IL Southern Illinois University
 Erick Tapia Aurora, IL Aurora University
 Krishna Thaker Champaign, IL University of Illinois
 Sharon Tucker Sycamore, IL Northern Illinois University
 Thanh Vo Chicago, IL University of Illinois at Chicago
 Yvette Zavala Cicero, IL Robert Morris University

Each year, The Society and The CPA Endowment Fund provide about $185,000 in financial support and outreach assistance to qualifying students who are working towards becoming CPAs. ICPAS scholarship programs are funded by contributions to the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois and cover costs for many expenses including tuition, textbooks and CPA exam fees.

Outreach programs, such as the Student Ambassador Program, help students enhance business skills and build professional connections as they complete studies and begin their careers.

For more information about the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, or to invest in the future of the accounting profession, visit

About the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois
The CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization founded in 1998 by Illinois CPA Society members. The Fund was created to ensure ongoing funding for scholarship and outreach programs. The programs are geared toward encouraging individuals to choose accounting as a career choice and achieve the CPA credential.