Illinois CPA Society Honors Outstanding Leaders at Annual Awards Event


CHICAGO, June 5, 2019 – The Illinois CPA Society presented its Leadership Recognition Awards at its annual event in Chicago on June 4, 2019. The awards recognize outstanding achievements and contributions of leaders in Illinois who are helping to shape the future of the accounting profession.

“It’s an honor and privilege to recognize the work of these dedicated individuals,” said Todd Shapiro, President and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society. “They are all dynamic leaders who are guiding the next generation through the evolution and rapid changes facing the accounting profession.”

The evening’s main awards were presented to the following individuals:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented for distinguished service to the CPA profession


    • Lee A. Gould – CPA/ABV, JD, CFE, CFF, Managing Member at Gould & Pakter Associates LLC


  • Outstanding Educator Awards: Presented to educators making significant contributions to accounting education


    • Terese Kasson – CPA, MSBA, Accounting Instructor/Academic Advisor, McKendree University
    • Bridgette E. Mahan – CPA, MBA, Instructor and Co-Chair of Business Department, Harold Washington College
    • Margaret M. Tower – CPA, MBA, Instructor of Accounting/Director of the Office of Student Engagement and Mentorship Program, DePaul University


  • Women to Watch Awards: Presented to leaders who are making significant contributions to the accounting profession, their organizations, and to the development of women as leaders. Winners were recognized in two categories:


    Emerging Leaders

    • Julia M. Harried – Audit & Assurance In-Charge, Deloitte & Touche LLP, and Co-Founder, MakerGirl
    • Charlene Rhinehart – CPA, Managing Director, CEO Unlimited LLC and Founder & Editor-in-Chief, Wealthy Women Daily


    Experienced Leaders

    • Rebekuh Eley – CPA, MST, Senior Manager, RSM US LLP
    • Kristen L. Fitzpatrick – CPA, Managing Principal, Miller Cooper & Co., Ltd.


  • Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards: Presented to leaders committed to increasing diversity in the accounting profession. Winners were recognized in two categories:


    Emerging Leader

    • Chinedu C. Iwuora – CPA, Audit & Assurance Manager, Deloitte & Touche LLP


    Outstanding Leader

    • Gregg S. Woodruff – CPA, PhD, Department Chair, Western Illinois University


  • Young Professional Leadership Award: Presented for outstanding leadership skills in their career or through public and community service


    • Nicole Presperin – CPA, Senior Director – New Ventures Group, Aon plc


  • Time and Talent Public Service, Volunteerism Award: Recognized for outstanding public service through the Illinois CPA Society’s CPA’s for the Public Interest volunteer initiatives


    • CliftonLarsonAllen LLP



Questions, comments, feedback

Eric Scott
Manager, Marketing & Communications | 312.517.7653